‘Ghost In The Shell’ Director Names Clint Mansell As Composer; His Second Live-Action Anime Adaptation

Nov 14, 2016


Composer Clint Mansell is likely best known for his collaborations with director Darren Aronofsky on the films Requiem For A Dream, The Fountain, The Wrestler and Black Swan. He’s also dabbled in genre work as well with Duncan Jones’ Moon, Ben Wheatley’s High-Rise, Black Mirror and also the English live-action version of the anime film Blood: The Last Vampire.

Den of Geek has learned from Ghost In The Shell director Rupert Sanders that Clint will be jumping back into those anime roots with scoring film. They also allude to original composer Kenji Kawai‘s music being incorporated from the anime. It would make sense as Kenji was also visiting the set, we’d assumed he would have some role to play with the film’s score.

Until then, we’ll leave you with the promo and a brief news snippet: during a round-table interview, Sanders revealed that Clint Mansell will be serving as composer on the movie. He wouldn’t be drawn on whether Kenji Kawaii’s extraordinary music from the 95 film will feature, but given that Kawaii performed part of the score live at the event, we’re guessing it’ll feature somewhere.

This is excellent news, as there was some criticism to the cover of Depeche Mode’s Enjoy The Silence in the trailer. The film would need a power score if it’s to match the anime in that aspect. We’ve been curious who would end up composing for the film and Mansell is another sign the film is going have artistry in mind.

Have you seen this:
Elvira's 40th Anniversary Special

Based on the internationally-acclaimed sci-fi property, “GHOST IN THE SHELL” follows the Major, a special ops, one-of-a-kind human-cyborg hybrid, who leads the elite task force Section 9. Devoted to stopping the most dangerous criminals and extremists, Section 9 is faced with an enemy whose singular goal is to wipe out Hanka Robotic’s advancements in cyber technology.

Directed by Rupert Sanders the film’s cast includes Scarlett Johansson, Michael Pitt, Takeshi Kitano, Pilou Asbaek, Chin Han, Rila Fukushima, Kaori Momoi, Lasarus Ratuere, Yutaka Izumihara, Tawanda Manyimo, Tricky, Danusia Samal, Juliette Bincohe, Michael Wincott, Joseph Naufahu, Chris Obi, Peter Ferdinado, Xavier Horan, and Ander Ng.

Ghost In The Shell is set for release on March 31st, 2017.


Did you miss breaking news?We publish new content every day.

Get our daily summary and monthly recap so you never miss out...