Exclusive: ‘Star Trek: Discovery’ Season 4 Production Set to Begin July 2020

Feb 6, 2020

The GWW has learned that season 4 of the flagship CBS All Access series ‘Star Trek: Discovery’ will begin production this July and wrap in next January in Toronto, Canada. The show will be shooting in Pinewood Toronto Studios.

‘Star Trek: Discovery’ is the seventh series in the franchise, and the first one since ‘Star Trek: Enterprise’ concluded in 2005. The series begins roughly a decade before the events of the original ‘Star Trek’ series, and follows the crew of the USS Discovery on various adventures.

The cast includes Sonequa Martin-Green (‘The Walking Dead’), Doug Jones (‘Hellboy’), Shazad Latif (‘Penny Dreadful’), Anthony Rapp (‘Rent’), Mary Wiseman (‘Marriage Story’), and Wilson Cruz (’13 Reasons Why’), along with Jason Isaacs (‘Fury’) for the first season, Anson Mount (‘Inhumans’) for the second, and David Ajala (‘Supergirl’) for the third.

The series was announced in November 2015, with Bryan Fuller (‘Hannibal,’ ‘American Gods’) acting as showrunner from February to October 2016, but leaving due to creative differences with CBS. He was replaced by Gretchen J. Berg & Aaron Harberts (‘Reign,’ ‘Roswell’), who received producing support from Akiva Goldsman (‘Batman & Robin,’ ‘Titans’). Goldsman did not return after the first season, while Berg and Harberts were fired by CBS during production on the second. Producer Alex Kurtzman (‘Sleepy Hollow,’ ‘Hawaii Five-0’) took over as showrunner for season 3, and was joined by ‘The Originals’ writer Michelle Paradise for the third season.

There is currently no airdate for season 4, or the upcoming third season, of ‘Discovery.’