CBS All Access News: Stephen King’s ‘The Stand’ Gets Series Order; ‘The Twilight Zone’ Will Premiere April 1

Jan 30, 2019

CBS All Access has given a 10-episode order to ‘The Stand,’ a new adaptation of Stephen King’s famous novel as a limited event. CBS All Access also set Monday, April 1 for the premiere of its reimagining of ‘The Twilight Zone.’

First, ‘The Stand’ is from Josh Boone (‘The Fault In Our Stars’) and ‘SEAL Team’ creator and executive producer Ben Cavell. Boone and Cavell penned the adaptation, and Boone will direct.

The premise is below:

King’s apocalyptic vision of a world decimated by plague and embroiled in an elemental struggle between good and evil. The fate of mankind rests on the frail shoulders of the 108-year-old Mother Abagail and a handful of survivors. Their worst nightmares are embodied in a man with a lethal smile and unspeakable powers: Randall Flagg, the Dark Man.

Boone is in post-production on ‘X-Men’ spinoff ‘The New Mutants,’ which he co-wrote and directed. It currently has an August 2 release. Cavell’s previous credits include co-executive producer on ‘Sneaky Pete’ and ‘Homeland,’ and executive producer on ‘Justified.’

‘The Stand’ is now part of CBS All Access’ expanding catalog which includes ‘The Good Fight,’ ‘No Activity,’ ‘Strange Angel’ and ‘Tell Me A Story,’ the new series ‘Why Women Kill’ and the upcoming reimagining of ‘The Twilight Zone.’

Speaking of ‘The Twilight Zone,’ we finally have a premiere date. The anthology series will debut with two episodes on April 1. Following the series premiere, new episodes will be available on demand weekly on Thursdays beginning April 11.

Moreover, Jordan Peele will serve as host and narrator of series, with an insanely stacked cast:

  • Ike Barinholtz (‘Blockers,’ ‘The Oath’)
  • John Cho (‘Star Trek,’ ‘Searching’)
  • Lucinda Dryzek (‘Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl,’ ‘City of Ember’)
  • Taissa Farmiga (‘The Nun,’ ‘The Mule’)
  • Percy Hynes-White (‘11.22.63,’ ‘The Gifted’)
  • Greg Kinnear (‘Little Miss Sunshine,’ ‘The War of the Worlds’)
  • Luke Kirkby (‘The Deuce,’ ‘The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel’)
  • Sanaa Lathan (‘Family Guy,’ ‘The Affair’)
  • Kumail Nanjiani (‘The Big Sick,’ ‘Men in Black: International’)
  • Adam Scott (‘The Good Place,’ ‘Big Little Lies’)
  • Rhea Seehorn (‘Better Call Saul,’ ‘Inside Man 2′)
  • Allison Tolman (‘Fargo,’ ‘Castle Rock’)
  • Jacob Tremblay (‘Room,’ ‘Wonder’)
  • Jefferson White (‘The Alienist,’ ‘Yellowstone’)
  • Jonathan Whitesell (‘Bad Times at the El Royale,’ ‘Project Blue Book’)
  • Jessica Williams (‘Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald,’ ‘2 Dope Queens’)
  • DeWanda Wise (‘Underground,’ ‘She’s Gotta Have It’)
  • Steven Yeun (‘The Walking Dead,’ ‘Sorry to Bother You’)

2019 will definitely be a turning point for the fledgling service. To reiterate, ‘The Twilight Zone’ will premiere April 1, while it is unknown when ‘The Stand’ will premiere.

Source: Deadline (2)

Add your voice!Join the conversation on Discord...