Lana Wachowski’s ‘Matrix 4’: Cinematographer John Toll (‘Braveheart,’ ‘Sense8’) in Talks to Join Film

Aug 22, 2019

Two-time Oscar winner John Toll (‘Braveheart,’ ‘Legends of the Fall,’ ‘The Thin Red Line,’ ‘Iron Man 3’) is in talks to join ‘Matrix 4’ as cinematographer. Toll would be reuniting with Lana Wachowski after collaborating with her on ‘Cloud Atlas,’ ‘Jupiter Ascending,’ and ‘Sense8.’

Lana Wachowski is set to write, direct, and produce ‘Matrix 4.’ Additionally, franchise stars Keanu Reeves and Carrie-Anne Moss are reprising their lead roles as Neo and Trinity, respectively.

The status of Lawrence Fishburne’s Morpheus is yet to be determined, while Variety mentioned that the role could be recast with a younger actor. Two years ago, Michael B. Jordan was sought out for a role in a ‘Matrix’ reboot. Was it for a young Morpheus? Is that still the case? We don’t know, but anything’s possible.

The three ‘Matrix’ films were all written and directed by Lana and Lilly Wachowski and starred Reeves, Moss, and Fishburne. Lilly Wachowski won’t be returning with her sister for the sequel, however. “Well, I’m a little busy at the moment,” she told /Film.

Production on the sequel is looking to begin in early 2020. Wachowski co-wrote the script with Aleksander Hemon and David Mitchell (‘Sense8’).

The film’s working title is ‘Project Ice Cream’ and we at GWW reported it back in June. The film currently does not have a release date.

Source: The Hollywood Reporter


Add your voice!Join the conversation on Discord...