Loot Crate – “Combat” Review + Level Up Bundle!

To my surprise, I received two boxes this week from our friends at LootCrate, The first Loot Anime box and Loot Crate’s “Combat” box.

Now for those unaware, or those who just happen to stumble across this post, Each month Loot Crate ships a themed mystery box of the best geek, gaming, and pop culture gear. November’s “Combat” theme focuses on characters from Fallout, TMNT, Street Fighter and Blizzard games.

2015-12-09 17.00.06

This month’s “Combat” Loot Crate includes:
  • TMNT Shredder Sunglasses
  • Exclusive Fallout 4 Vault Boy Bobblehead
  • Cute But Deadly Mystery Mini Figures
  • Exclusive Cute But Deadly Magnet Set
  • The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2 Pin
  • Exclusive  Street Fighter Hyper Looting #1 Comic Book
  • Combat Button

I’ll start off with my favorite item from the crate, the Fallout 4 Vault Boy vault boyBobblehead. If you haven’t played Fallout for one reason or another, there are bobbleheads in the game you can collect that will help attribute a +1 to specific stats. Lootcrate has given us our very own exclusive bobblehead and I really like the detail on it. It’s definitely something to add to my desk collection.

The Hunger Games Mockingjay pin is a nice item for any collector. It’s pretty sturdy too. I haven’t seen the latest film but my wife is in love with the series so she appreciates the item more than I.

The Cute But Deadly Blind Box and Cute But Deadly Magnet set featured characters from Blizzard games. Now the Mystery Minis first announced during Blizzcon. My Mystery Mini was Diablo. Right off the bat, what caught my eye was the the design, not only the figure was impressive but the box art as well. These collectibles are created by Happy Worker. The back of the box also shows the rarity of each figure, Diablo being 6/36. The box also came with a Magnet set of the same Cute But 2015-12-09 17.00.39Deadly characters and was probably my least favorite item from the crate, only because I don’t care for magnets.

The TMNT glasses included features shredders helmet attached to the top of them. I almost feel like the guys at Loot Crate were like, “Hey, remember those Ninja Turtles glasses we sent you with the  Heroes (August 2014) crate, well here is a matching pair.” Which I’m totally okay with as my son really enjoyed playing with those until they met their untimely demise.  Hey Loot Crate team, if you guys are listening, I think it would be awesome to see a pair based on Bebop and Rocksteady, especially afterstreet fighter their introduction on the new trailer released today. A pair of sunglasses with a purple Mohawk attached? I can dig it.

More from GWW
The Flash #86 (Review)

The crate also came with a Street Fighter comic. I have yet to read it so I don’t have much of an opinion on this yet. As a comic collector, normally when comics come in LC, they are variant covers to comics I normally already have so I just leave them in the package and store them. This time around, the comic itself seems to be exclusive to the crate so I’ve been going back and forth on popping that seal. Based on the name “Hyper Looting”, It sounds like this comic has something to actually do with Loot Crate. The comic is written by Matt Moylan, who currently is working on Lil Formers, a parody comic strip based on Hasbro’s Transformers.

This month’s crate is pretty decent, not my favorite though. I did not connect as well to this box as I had with others. I guess I really need to dive into a Blizzard game or catch up on Hunger Games to really appreciate a few of these items. The Fallout Vault-Boy Bobblehead was absolutely the best item in the box though, now I just need to figure out how to attach it to the top of my Christmas tree.

December’s Loot Crate theme is Galaxy and features EXCLUSIVE items from Star Wars and Halo 5. I am extremely excited for it since these are two series I love. It’s not too late to sign up for the December Crate, as of today you still have 9 days left. Sign up by clicking the image below:

Galaxy_Google_Header_Logos


 

**Update** 12-11-15

LEVEL UP+

The following day after this review went live, I received the Level up package which also featured the Combat theme. The Level Up bundle includes two pairs of socks, a Level Up wearable (polo, long sleeve shirt, seasonal apparel, lounge wear) and other goods.

More from GWW
Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Every Generation # 1 (REVIEW)

Included in this month’s Level Up “The Combat Collection” Bundle:2015-12-10 17.07.31

  • Two pairs of socks: Zombie & Fallout
  • Hunger Games Mockingjay Necklace
  • Nuka Cola Bottle Cap pouch/bag
  • Attack on Titan t-shirt

Let me start off by saying this is my first Level Up package. It looks like it is a continuation of the LootCrate you receive that month with additional apparel and wearables included.

2015-12-10 17.11.05The Nuka Cola Bottle Cap Bag came tightly zipped up in the shape of an actual bottom cap. When unzipped turns into an actual Bag. The idea of it is pretty cool, but my initial thought was “when am I actually going to use this”. The Mrs brought up an interesting point as we live in a city where plastic bags are banned and only reusable bags can be purchased at grocery stores, I now can do my shopping while showing off my geekdom.

Note: Immediately, after this my wife laughed and said, “Perfect timing, we need diapers.” I’m sure she had this planned all along. I really did take the bag though and received kudos from the cashier. #GamersUnite

You bet I’m taking this bag to load up on Nuka Cola when it hits shelves again for round two.

The Hunger Games necklace is great for any fan of the series, now the necklace can go on display with the matching pin that came with the original crate.

The package also came with two pairs of socks. Every Level Up bundle will have two pairs. This one featured vault boy of Fallout’s face on it and the other pair featured a skull head.

Finally, To top off all this glorious Attack on Titan items I received during this month’s Loot Anime box, Loot Crate said “But Wait, there’s more!” and threw in a AoT T-Shirt as well. The three-quarter-sleeve baseball style tee has “Scout Regiment” written in the front and the Scout Regiment logo on the sleeve.

For those who couldn’t get enough with the theme of that month, adding the Level Up Bundle is certain to quince your thirst.

 

geeks worldwide giveaway lenovo smart display

September Giveaway: Lenovo Smart Display. Enter to win for FREE.

GWW partners with Adventure Chest
Lenovo Yoga Smart Tab
Free GWW t-shirt!
25% Insider Discount
15% Insider Discount
Get your chance to win a prize!
Enter your email address and spin the wheel. This is your chance to win amazing discounts!
Our in-house rules:
  • One game per user
  • Cheaters will be disqualified.