Sigourney Weaver Joins Jason Reitman’s ‘Ghostbusters;’ Dan Aykroyd & Bill Murray Reportedly Returning As Well

In an interview with Parade, Sigourney Weaver (‘Alien,’ The Defenders’) confirms her involvement Jason Reitman’s ‘Ghostbusters.’ Additionally, they state that she will not be the only one returning, as Bill Murray (‘Lost in Translation,’ ‘Isle of Dogs’) and Dan Aykroyd (‘The Blues Brothers,’ ‘Get on Up’) will come back as well.

The full quote from Parade is below:

“She’s also set to reunite with Bill Murray and Dan Aykroyd in the new ‘Ghostbusters,’ due July 2020. ‘It’s going to be crazy working with the guys again!’ she says. She won’t reveal any details except to confirm she’s reprising her role as hauntee Dana Barrett.”

We at GWW were working on confirming Weaver’s involvement recently:

Meanwhile, the film is set in the universe of the original two Ivan Reitman films, and revolves around a single mom and her family, who have mysterious ties back to the first 1984 movie.

Carrie Coon (‘The Leftovers,’ ‘Avengers: Infinity War’) portrays the single mother, while Finn Wolfhard (‘Stranger Things,’ ‘It’) and Mckenna Grace (‘The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina,’ ‘Captain Marvel’) play her children.

More from GWW
Matt Reeves Brings His Batman Universe To HBO Max

However, the characters from the Paul Feig reboot will not be returning, due to the film being outside of continuity. The screenplay is from Reitman (‘Juno,’ Tully’) and Gil Kenan (‘City of Ember,’ ‘Monster House’).

Moreover, the crew members thus far:

Further, filming will begin filming July 14th and wrap October 7th in Calgary, Canada.

Sony Pictures will release the film on July 10, 2020.

Source: Parade

geeks worldwide giveaway lenovo smart display

October Giveaway: Lenovo Legion 5i Gaming Laptop

Lenovo Yoga Smart Tab
Free GWW t-shirt!
25% Insider Discount
15% Insider Discount
Get your chance to win a prize!
Enter your email address and spin the wheel. This is your chance to win amazing discounts!
Our in-house rules:
  • One game per user
  • Cheaters will be disqualified.