‘Sonic the Hedgehog’ Adds Composer Tom Holkenborg aka Junkie XL (‘Mad Max: Fury Road,’ ‘Deadpool’)

Feb 13, 2019

Tom Holkenborg (aka Junkie XL) is currently scoring the upcoming live-action/animated hybrid film adaptation ‘Sonic the Hedgehog.’

Tim Miller and Blur Studio are producing the film, which marks a reunion for Holkenborg since 2016’s ‘Deadpool.’

Some of Holkenborg’s other popular scores are from ‘Mad Max: Fury Road,’ ‘Black Mass,’ ‘Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice,’ and ‘Tomb Raider.’ His most recent film is Robert Rodriguez’s ‘Alita: Battle Angel,’ releasing February 14.

Moreover, the cast includes Ben Schwartz, James Marsden, Tika Sumpter, Neal McDonough, Adam Pally and Jim Carrey.

The premise is below:

“Based on the Sega video game franchise, the film follows a small-town sheriff (Marsden) in the rural town of Green Hills who teams up with Sonic (Schwartz) to help him escape from the government who is looking to capture him.”

Jeff Fowler makes his directorial debut on the film. He did the short film ‘Gopher Broke,’ an Academy Award nominee for Best Animated Short Film. The screenplay is from Patrick Casey & Josh Miller (’12 Deadly Days’) and Oren Uziel (’22 Jump Street’). Uziel is currently working on both a ‘Supergirl’ film and the ‘Detective Pikachu’ sequel.

Paramount’s ‘Sonic the Hedgehog’ will release on November 8.

Source: Film Music Reporter

Add your voice!Join the conversation on Discord...